Star Tracer Tip

Discussion forum for Tawbaware's Star Tracer and Image Stacker software
ranord

Star Tracer Tip

Post by ranord » Wed May 11, 2011 8:36 am

Hi,

I'm new to Star Tracer and getting quite frustrated getting acceptable star lines.

I did my first trace with a JPG and was able to get a rather accurate trace rather quickly.

Now I'm trying to trace using an 8-bit TIFF and for the live of me I can't get an acceptable result. I've carefully added 30 lines and it still complains to me. So what other guidelines do you have other than what is in the help doc.

Should the lines be all the same length, in the same arc, on separate arcs, close together, spread far apart like over the whole image, long better than short. I feel like I'm wasting alot of time trying to figure out what the program is really looking for.

Also why does Star Tracer disappear after I optimize requiring me to swap screens to get it back, that's really irritating.

This would be a cool program if I could only get it to predictably work.

Thanks

Roger

maxlyons

Re: Star Tracer Tip

Post by maxlyons » Wed May 11, 2011 8:57 am

ranord wrote:I can't get an acceptable result. I've carefully added 30 lines and it still complains to me.
Can you provide more detail on these "complaints"?

Max

ranord

Post by ranord » Wed May 11, 2011 12:56 pm

Sure Max.

I'm at work so I don't have the exact message but I get a popup message basically telling me I have some improperly places star lines. When looking at the star lines I entered and the number next to them I see wildly varying numbers. Usually the best, lowest, is around 1 with the highest numbers in the 30s or 40s or 50s. I try addling more lines or removing the worse line but that doesn't seem to help.

So I'm wondering what I'm doing wrong. I've tried fewer lines and longer start lines. I'm estimating the FOV at 50 and have not selected any other options for the optimizer to use, just the default ones.