Beginners Problem With Star Tracer

Discussion forum for Tawbaware's Star Tracer and Image Stacker software
diskgolf3

Beginners Problem With Star Tracer

Post by diskgolf3 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:14 pm

I am new to star trail photography but I am a professional Grapic Designer and a very experienced Photoshop and other design program user. I realize that Star Tracer is a very powerful and useful program for filling gaps and extending star trails. I can usually pick up on how most programs work by reading the help file and if needed I read through any related fourms, both of which I have done here. After all this I am still running into issues that I guess I just don't quite get. I think I understand the concept of the tools, input fileds and so forth but a couple of basic questions are baffling me:
How do you trace a curved star trail line? The star lines have to be straight right? Is there a way to edit a line after it has been drawn? It took me a while to figure out that to delete a line you have to hold control and and drag around it.
I am try to work on a file with a star circle(see attached). I have tried long lines that skip from end to end that kind of look like a bow and arrow if that makes sense. I've tried short lines that pretty much stay in the star trail but nothing seems to work. I tried to optimize bothe attempts but the updated numbers are very strange like FOV 546 or1.46. I outputed both attempts and they seem to just shift the star trails to the right and left.
I hope I have provided enough iformation to explain my problem with out over doing it and putting you to sleep.
Any help would be appreciated!

maxlyons

Re: Beginners Problem With Star Tracer

Post by maxlyons » Thu Nov 29, 2012 2:24 pm

diskgolf3 wrote:How do you trace a curved star trail line? The star lines have to be straight right? Is there a way to edit a line after it has been drawn? It took me a while to figure out that to delete a line you have to hold control and and drag around it.