Why can't I stitch these photos.

Discussion forum for Tawbaware's PTAssembler software, Helmut Dersch's Panorama Tools software and any other photography related software

Moderator: spamkiller

Why can't I stitch these photos.

Postby jtay66 » Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:43 am

Newly back to PTAssembler after several years away. On my old XP machine I could automatically stitch 3 x 8 panos with good results. I upgraded to Win 7 64 bit and am running latest PTA in x86 mode.

I'm trying to stitch a set of verticals of a Mt. St. Helens vista, 2x28 shots, each 8 MB jpegs. I used a tripod and a Manfrotto 303SPH head. The dawn light was changing rapidly, so when I got back to the start of the second row, there was about a 2 stop exposure difference (which I assume is easily within the range of TuFuse). When I look at the individual images in Lightroom, they seem to be an obvious continuous series, 2 rows of 28 each. The images are sharp, but AutoCreate isn't giving me a panoramic output. The PTA program runs fast. I'm guessing I've got some setting wrong, but I can't locate the problem.

Trials:

1. 2x3 images at left selected, cylindrical projection, all other settings at default, AutoPreview => ACPD =.0036%, jumble of images, some stitched, but some foreground up in sky, etc.

2. All images selected, cylindrical projection, all other settings at default, AutoPreview => ACPD =.0036%, same jumble of images.

3. All images selected, rectilinear projection, autoalign w/ defaults => single row pano with 2 images (maybe some adjoining blends): first image (#1) and last image of first row (#28), nothing in between. No control points found for most images

4. Same as 3 but equirectangular projection; same result.

Saw some error messages flashing by in DOS window, but not sure how to retrieve that info.

Output is so weird I assume I must be making some basic error. Can someone point me in a more productive direction?

Thanks,

John
John Taylor
jtay66
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:46 pm

Re: Why can't I stitch these photos.

Postby dsp » Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:12 am

What control point picker are you using, and how many cores is your new computer? Sounds to me like the control point picker is dumping, and this happens if the picker has issues during feature detection. See these threads...
http://www.tawbaware.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6154
http://www.tawbaware.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6065

cheers, Darcy
dsp
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:09 am
Location: Hoboken, NJ

Re: Why can't I stitch these photos.

Postby jtay66 » Sun Oct 16, 2011 8:29 pm

Thanks Darcy,

I had looked in the archives before I posted, but didn't manage to find a useful keyword. The links you pointed me to described exactly my problem (I was also using Panomatic). I first tried -n 2 and that improved things, but -n 1 did the trick. I now have a very interesting 927 MB St. Helens image, but with some serious blending problems as well as some fine white horizontal banding in a number of regions. PTA was run with Neat Image, Tufuse and Enblend all set with default configurations. I'll start playing around from here, though I think it will be difficult to salvage the image. I don't know how to send such a large image to show you what I mean.

Thanks again for your help.

John
John Taylor
jtay66
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:46 pm

Re: Why can't I stitch these photos.

Postby johnh » Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:32 am

jtay66 wrote:I don't know how to send such a large image to show you what I mean.

If you don't have any private web space to upload files to, you can use a free service such as http://www.ge.tt or http://www.filedropper.com/. Then simply post a link to the file.

John
johnh
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: UK


Return to PTAssembler, Panorama Tools and Other Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest